I smell Chanel (I don’t)

Hey people of social media. Hello bloggers, introverts, fashionistas, prestigious ones and hello to you too Mrs. I’m Just Here To Browse In My Free Time. I’m blogging again after God knows how long but pardon me, such situations arose which shook me inside and out. Really, I’ve been meaning to blog since quite some time but I just didn’t feel myself doing it. BUT days feel somewhat better now and I’m finally in grasps with myself, so for now, I’m back!

Yeah the title is a wee bit daft but it was supposed to be a private joke, a line I used to someone when I sprayed a Chanel perfume tester in Debenhams, on myself (give me some credit, it’s a bit funny). Well since this blog post is about perfumes, I thought well, why not use it? Anywhoo, let me let you in on a more appropriate title for this blog post: My Current Top 5 Fave Perfumes *perfume emoji*

FullSizeRender 3

I only got Marc Jacobs’ new Decadence yesterday as an early Valentines present but I sprayed it on myself in the morning and apparently “made the house smell beautiful” and I smelt “good enough to attract men” – thank you dear Sister who thought I can’t attract men without it but hey, that’s a pretty good compliment to the perfume. Marc Jacobs describes the perfume as a “fragrance which opens with sultry top notes of Italian plum, iris flower, and saffron. The heart opens with luxurious notes of Bulgarian rose, jasmine sambac, and orris. The indulgent dry down reveals the base notes of vetiver, papyrus woods, and liquid amber.” – well, that’s a mouthful. Let me put it in my own words, but before I do that, let me show you the bottle.

IMG_4059FullSizeRender 2

SEE HOW BEAUTIFUL THAT IS! It’s like a luxurious mini purse and I genuinely would have got round to buying it myself just because of the bottle, if I wasn’t gifted it. (Also, see how my Dad’s watch stole the show in the second picture? Yes Dad, you’ll always be number 1, and me after you). Now back to the scent, I would personally describe it as a very long-lasting, rather different scent. Yes you can smell florals, you can smell saffron and you can smell woods. But they blend beautifully with one another. No one smell out-powers the other, it’s well balanced. It’s something that I would wear on occasions and sparingly, because a little goes a long way. But it really is my new favourite, thanks for the gift bae 😉

FullSizeRender

On to perfume number 2, let’s talk about Viktor&Rolf’s Flowerbomb. Viktor&Rolf describe this as “a millefleurs around the freesia, Centifolia rose, osmanthus and Sambac jasmine, supported by a background of patchouli.” In layman terms, a very floral scent. This was probably one of my favourites in 2015, as you can see, I’ve finished it as well and am in dire need of a new one. However, again, I only wore this occasionally because it’s a rather powerful scent. If I was to wear it everyday, I probably would get a headache from it. Nevertheless, it smells beautiful and very feminine. BUT major downside, I needed a good 4-5 sprays to smell Flowerbomb-y. I’d describe this one as a ‘evening-out’ perfume.

FullSizeRender 4

BalmainxHM’s limited edition perfume that sold out in like an hour – I don’t know the specifics but around that time. But basically, I pounced on this purely by name and ordered online just to make it mine. It was described as “the perfume blends tonka bean and jasmine with a warm base of white musk and wood. It’s likeable and easy-to-wear, much like the high street brand, and in a glamorous, high fashion casing – exactly what you’d expect from the Parisian fashion house.” And honest review, I fell in love with the bottle as soon as it came and fell deeper in love with the scent. You know what it reminded me of? Less Paris and more Dubai! Just because of my love for Dubai, I instantly fell in love with it anyway. It has strong Oud scents, major White Musk scents and yes, the hint of Jasmine is there too. Put simply, I LOVE the scent! Again, a few sprays are needed but it lasts till the end of the day. All in all, it’s my favourite scent to wear with asian attire.

FullSizeRender 5

Here’s my everyday scent. I bring to you D&G’s L’Imperatrice. Described as “succulent exotic fruits and bright pink florals which give way to a musky, appetite-arousing base. Flamboyant and energetic, for L’Impératrice life is a movie and she is its heroine. All heads turn when she enters a room. Vibrant, magnetic she exudes charisma and force of character.” – and yes, it’s just that. That description is as accurate as it can get so I really can’t put it in better words. It’s an affordable, fun-loving and long-lasting scent that will probably be my favourite everyday scent for the rest of my life – no exaggerations there! The bright pink florals surely stand out though, they majorly overpower the musk so no, it’s not a laid-back scent, it’s more of a in-your-face scent. But for me, it’s my perfect scent.

FullSizeRender 6

Last but not least, Cacharel’s Amor Amor. This is the most ROMANTIC, SENSUOUS and INTIMATE perfume I have ever smelt. If ya wanna corner ya man into doin somethin, dis d one. Ignore that I said that, but yeah, this is a very very feminine scent, with florals and lots and lots of warmth. Just take my word for it, it’s an intimate scent. Cacharel describes “Amor Amor as a delicious ‘sparkling fruity floral’ that’s both fresh and sexy! With it’s original mix of mandarin, melati jasmine, sandalwood and musk, you’re bound to stand out from the crowd!”. Again, powerful scent, not so much long-lasting though so frequent top ups are needed. Overall, I’d describe it as the perfect ‘date night’ perfume.

Soo that’s my current top 5 favourite perfumes, what’s yours? I genuinely would love to hear about any amazing ones that I’m missing out on. But anywhoo, that’s all the waffle you’re getting from me today.

Until next time.

Love,

Shohrin.

Leave a Reply

