Make Up *nails done emoji*

To those who were actually waiting for my next blog (I love you) I am sorry for the delay. I have been a very busy busy bee with some sort of work or the either. Whilst trying to juggle retail work, voluntary work and house work, I have had ZERO me time. But hey, I now present to you a blog of great interest to most of my female readers and maybe even of some interest to my male readers? Who knows, ey?

Whilst on a day out yesterday to Birmingham with my girlies, we went on a crazy shopping spree at Bullring. At the end of the day, my friend Mars (Mariyah) said to me “OMG Sho, you should do a blog post called Bullring haul”, we then laughed over that and thought NO. So instead, that gave me an idea to write up a blog post on all the makeup that I own (including some that I only bought yesterday but don’t you worry, I have tried and tested them to give you some sort of review(?) on it)

FullSizeRender 2

Let’s start with foundations, shall we? I have always been a die-hard fan of MAC. The most affordable high-end brand which is absolutely perfect for everyday wear with a medium to high coverage. The foundation that I use is MAC Studio Fix Fluid SPF15 in Shade NW35 or MAC Studio Sculpt SPF15 in Shade NC30. These are both in fact a few shades darker than my skin. As weird as it sounds, I always prefer looking more tanned and I have also realised that using a darker shade of foundation makes your skin look more flawless. Try it!

Also, I can be a bit of a cheapskate sometimes and to make my MAC last longer, I sometimes add the MUA Matte Foundation in Shade 2 Honeycomb or Shade 3 Gentle Fawn. These are only £2 and they add to your high-end foundation without ruining the quality of it. THEY ARE MY ABSOLUTE FAVE THING EVER!

For everyday wear to University or when I’m running late for work, my go-to foundation has to be the AVON Ideal Flawless Cream to Powder Foundation in Shade Creamy Natural. This is a quick application foundation with a low coverage, almost giving a no-makeup effect whilst still giving a flawless look.

NOW, NARS! Yesterday I finally tried it! I got it! And I LOVE IT! It has to be the best decision I have EVER made! I bought the NARS All Day Luminous Weightless Foundation in Shade Stromboli. For once, I decided to buy a foundation which is true to my shade and I really don’t regret it. It looks flawless and not ashy (whereas the MAC one does, if bought correct to shade) and gives a medium to high coverage. The only downside I found of the NARS foundation is the consistency. It’s a tad bit too runny, but once it’s applied, it’s AMAZING. BELIEVE ME! Oh and yeah, I also pushed myself a little bit and even bought the NARS Radiant Creamy Concealer in Shade Ginger. The only thing I can say is that my dark circles were gone. Disappeared, whoosh! Don’t just take my word for it, try it for yourself, (Insha Allah) you shall love it too.

FullSizeRender 3

I only ever use a primer on special occasions so haven’t really bothered investing in a high-end one. Although, saying that, it’s kind of next on my makeup shopping list. So as basic as possible, the current primer I use is the MUA Matte Perfect Primer. As this is the only one that I have ever used, I have nothing to compare it against so all I can say is well, it does its job.

Now to setting powders, I have always believed that once you’ve used a good quality foundation, using a drugstore setting powder does not ruin the look. I can say this from experience because I have tried MAC Studio Fix Powders as well as many drugstore brands and I haven’t noticed any major differences in my makeup, even throughout the day. For this reason, I now stick to the MUA Pressed Powder and the MUA Matte Perfect Loose Translucent Powder. They do their job and give a lasting matte finish too. Win win!

FullSizeRender 6

The most fun part of makeup, CONTOURING AND HIGHLIGHTING! I only really do this on occasions and therefore own really pigmented ones. I mainly use my Kryolan Supracolor Palette of 12 Colours. IT IS HEAVEN ON YOUR FINGERTIPS. It blends beautifully and lasts all day! It is actually amazing. If you are looking for a high-end contour palette, believe me, go for this!

I also have another Contour Palette which is from EBAY. It’s only around £4 but the quality isn’t great. It blends amazingly but doesn’t last all day. However, for those of you who may just want a little bit of fun with your makeup without having a fully contoured face, it’s not a bad option. Also, it’s great for everyday wear to give a less heavy contoured look. However, I barely use it everyday just because of the rush that I am in every morning *cries* Anywhoo, here’s the link to the product http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/15-Color-Contour-Makeup-Concealer-Face-Powder-Camouflage-Neutral-Palette-Set-Kit-/251919035306?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_3&hash=item3aa78b6baa

FullSizeRender 9

Blushers! I own a lot and they are mostly from Bodycare. Trust me, they aren’t bad at all. Unfortunately I don’t have the names of them but if you walk into the makeup section in Bodycare, I’m sure you’ll find limitless options so you can choose for yourself.

The one that I absolutely love is the MAC Pro Longwear Blush in Shade Eternal Sunshine. I always find myself thinking to myself in the morning if I want a bronze look or a pink look and I always end up using my Eternal Sunshine as it’s the most perfect in-between shade. It’s just a beautiful shade! Also, as the name suggests, yes it is long-wearing, it lasts the day as long as you’re not running around and sweating.

I also have the 10 Colour Blusher Palette from EBAY, which again is super cheap at the price of around £4 and it’s not bad at all for what you’re paying. It gives you some variation in the colours you can wear without busting your wallet. It’s not amazing quality but it’s not harsh on the skin, it does the job. The link to the product is http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/10-Color-Blush-Blusher-Powder-Makeup-Palette-Set-Cosmetic-Blusher-Make-up-Tool-/321634580001?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_3&hash=item4ae2ea3621

One more thing that I really love is a little bit of a shimmer highlight. I very recently invested in the Gerard Cosmetics Star Powder in Shade Marilyn. It gives a GORGEOUS shine without looking excessively shimmery. I just can’t get enough of it. It’s beautiful. I am looking forward to ordering more shades, I really can not wait to try more. Also, as far as I am aware, Gerard Cosmetics are currently giving FREE worldwide delivery and to get a further 45% off, use the promotional code “genbeauty”, this allows the Star Powder to work out to a total of just around £10.

FullSizeRender 5

MY MOST FAVOURITE MAKEUP PRODUCTS EVER: LIPSTICKS! I have only ever liked a matte finish on my lips. For that reason most of the lipsticks I own are of a matte finish.

  • MAC Lipstick – Velvet Teddy, Mehr, Diva, Ruby Woo. These all hold a very matte finish however, I do find them drying on the lips sometimes. The smell is absolutely amazing though and the quality is no doubt gorgeous. I would say the only downside is the drying, and I genuinely think that is more to do with my lips because it only occurs sometimes.
  • Gerard Cosmetics Lipstick – 1995, Nude, Tequila Sunrise, Underground, All Dolled Up, Cherry Cordial, Buttercup, Berry Smoothie. I would definitely put my word into saying these are much better than MAC lipsticks. They have the same matte finish but with more moisture on your lips. They are highly pigmented and glide on beautifully. Also, with the 45% off code of “genbeauty” and the FREE worldwide delivery, they only work out to be around £8 each. Around half the price of a MAC lipstick!
  • Charlotte Tilbury Matte Revolution Lipstick – Walk of Shame. I only got this yesterday but I am already in love. It is totally worth the price and is a perfect everyday shade. It would go with almost any look and the texture is beautiful. It is so creamy and just glides on. It is safe to say that it is my new favourite go-to lipstick.
  • MAC Lip Liner – Whirl. This is the one colour that matches with every one of my lipsticks. It is just an absolutely beautiful colour. No matter how much I praise this, it will never be enough. So all I’d say is go and try it out for yourself.
  • Collection Cream Puff Lip Cream – Powder Puff, Cotton Candy. These are sooooo cute and pretty. They’re a matte lip cream with the most cute cotton candy scent. They are an absolute essential for everyday wear at just £3.
  • Me Now Matte Lipgloss – Shade 18. This is a perfect dupe for Anastasia Beverly Hills’ Liquid Lipstick. They do the exact same job and come in 36 gorgeous shades. They are waterproof and super long lasting and dry to an absolute matte, transfer-free finish. The only downside is that they make your lips slightly sticky, but at the price of around £3, you can’t expect more. The link to this product is http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Lip-gloss-Lipgloss-Lip-paint-Lipstick-Matte-Velvet-waterproof-super-long-lasting-/281322017617?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_3&var=&hash=item4180195351

FullSizeRender 7

I know many many people that love eyeshadows but I am just not much of an eyeshadow person. For this reason, I only own one eyeshadow palette. The Urban Decay Naked 3 gives an amazing palette of rose gold colours which allow me to experiment with my eyeshadow whilst still looking rather natural. It’s a good investment, they are gorgeously pigmented. Hopefully, I am also looking into investing in the Urban Decay Naked 2 Basics palette soon. The shades are just beautiful nudes and also, they are MATTE! How much better can it get?

FullSizeRender 11

I am soooooo fussy about my eyeliner, it’s unreal. I’ve tried many many drugstore and high-end eyeliners but I refuse to use anything other than my Elle18 Water Resistant Black Out! liner and my Elle18 Kajal from India. Yes, from India. I make sure that my parents bring back plenty of these from their yearly trip to India.

For mascara, I use the YSL Shocking Mascara in Shade 1 Deep Black. It gives an instant false lash effect without all the hassle of false lashes. The only downside of this mascara is the brush. It sometimes gives a really cluttered application. For this reason, I apply the YSL mascara and then brush over it with AVON’s Supershock Mascara. This brush is absolutely amazing! I think my Supershock mascara finished almost a year ago but I can’t get myself to throw it away solely because of the brush.

FullSizeRender 10

Lashesssssssssssss. Omg these are so horribly fussy to apply but once applied always look amazing which is why we women go through all the fuss *sigh* Anyways, I have only ever used the cheapest of cheapest of false lashes and only very rarely, just on special occasions. For this reason, I have only used the Primark £1 false lashes in Natural and Sultry. With a few coats of mascara on them, they’re not bad at all. Bargain!

FullSizeRender

But guess what came in this very morning? HUDA BEAUTY MINK LASHES in Bridget! I have wanted these wayyyy before they were launched and so ordered them as soon as they were available. Just look at them beauties! Wow! But now I know that I’ll wait for a very very special occasion to wear them. Maybe something as special as my engagement? Jk, but you know, something along those lines.

I hope all you girlies (and guys) enjoyed this blog post. As you can probably tell, makeup is my most favourite thing in the world and so if any of you want to ever buy me a gift, you know what to get me *pink girl swooshing her hand emoji*

Jokes aside, I hope I managed to keep you guys entertained until the end of this post. I apologise for the length of this blog post but once a girl starts talking about makeup, who can stop her?! Until next time, wake up, make up and turn up! Ciao!

Love,

Shohrin.

3 responses to “Make Up *nails done emoji*

  1. Pingback: 1 Year Later = Still Broke, Still Fleeky | Terres Sereines·

Leave a Reply

